Skip to main content

Elyria Municipal Court

Photo of Elyria Municipal Court


Welcome to the Elyria Municipal Court website. The Elyria Municipal Court was established in 1955 by the Ohio State Legislature. At the time, the Elyria Municipal Court was a single-judge court until the 1970s when the court expanded to two judges.


The Elyria Municipal Court district serves the cities of Elyria and North Ridgeville, the villages of Grafton and Lagrange; and the townships of Carlisle, Columbia, Eaton, Elyria, Grafton, and Lagrange. According to the 2000 Federal Census, the Elyria Municipal Court district serves over 118,000 citizens.

Present Day

Today, the Elyria Municipal Court has two elected judges and one elected municipal court clerk. The court tries all misdemeanors, ordinance violations, and traffic cases occurring within the above jurisdictions, civil cases (where $15,000 or less is in controversy), and small claim complaints (where $6,000 or less is in controversy). Felony cases are heard to determine probable cause before being bound-over to the Lorain County Court of Common Pleas.

The Elyria Municipal Court handles over 20,000 new cases yearly, making it one of the busiest local municipal courts in Ohio

Hours of operation for the Elyria Municipal Court are Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.- 4:30p.m, excluding federal holidays. Please see our calendar for the current schedule

Elyria Municipal Courthouse

601 Broad St
Elyria, OH 44035